I’m really missing all my friends at the Golden Crown Literary Society. This time of year, I’d usually be at their Annual Literary Conference. With the concerns about coronavirus, the in-person conference was cancelled and moved to a modified virtual one.

Today, was the awarding of the Goldies – awards given for excellence in lesbian literature.

Check out this list for this year’s finalists. Here are the 2020 winners:

General Non-Fiction

Carmen Maria Machado for ‘In the Dream House’

Romantic Blend

Carrie Hunter for ‘Breath’
EJ Noyes for ‘Alone’
Ali Vali for ‘Stormy Seas’

Contemporary Romance Short

Kris Bryant ‘Listen’
Karin Kallmaker ‘Because I Said So’

Poetry/Poems Collections

Jessica Jacobs ‘Take Me With You, Wherever You’re Going’


Pascal Scott for her book, ‘Hard Fall’
Ann McMan for her book, ‘Galileo’

Young Adult

Rachel Gold for her book, ‘In the Silences’
Aimee Herman for ‘Everything Grows’

Contemporary Romance Mid-Length

D. Jackson Leigh for ‘Ordinary is Perfect’
Gerri Hill for ‘After the Summer Rain’
Jane Cuthbertson for ‘Game Changers’
Jenn Alexander for ‘The Song of the Sea’


Charlotte Greene for ‘Legacy’
Caren J. Werlinger for ‘A Bittersweet Garden’

Erotic Novels

Brenda Murphy for ‘Double Six’

General Fiction

Nan Higgins for ‘London Undone’

Historical Fiction

Elena Graf for ‘Acts of Contrition’

Contemporary Romance Long

EJ Noyes for ‘If the Shoe Fits’
Jae for ‘The Roommate Arrangement’
Melissa Brayden for ‘Beautiful Dreamer’

Science Fiction and Fantasy

Lina Rather for ‘Sisters of the Vast Black’
Brey Willows for ‘Changing Course’
Katharine Duckett for ‘Miranda in Milan’
Anna Burke for ‘Thorn’

Debut Novel

Jane Cuthbertson for ‘Game Changers’
Jenn Alexander for ‘The Song of the Sea’
Aimee Herman for ‘Everything Grows’
Paul Skenazy for ‘Temper CA’

Ann Bannon Popular Choice Award

Cheryl A. Head for ‘Judge Me When I’m Wrong’

Tee Corinne Award for Outstanding Cover Design

Judith Fellows for the cover of ‘Alone’

The Lee Lynch Classic Award

Sally Miller Gearhart

Trailblazer Award

Barbara Wilson Sjoholm for her mystery/crime books, short stories and general fiction novels.

The GCLS Board of Director’s Award goes to Carleen Spry

Congratulations to all the winners and finalists!