Tags

,

new-yorker-pres-react-to-trumpYou know that whirring noise we’ve been hearing?

It is all the dead presidents spinning in their graves. The cartoon from the New Yorker, with George Washington’s face palm nails exactly what many of us are feeling.

I mean, just consider that every single one of the still living presidents (whether Democrat or Republican) has stated that they do not support Trump.

Seriously – the very people we have elected in the past, who have served our nation, do not think he should be president.

As Hillary Clinton said in the second debate:

You know, with prior Republican nominees for president, I disagreed with them on politics, policies, principles, but I never questioned their fitness to serve.

Donald Trump is different. I said starting back in June that he was not fit to be president and commander-in-chief. And many Republicans and independents have said the same thing. What we all saw and heard on Friday was Donald talking about women, what he thinks about women, what he does to women. And he has said that the video doesn’t represent who he is.

But I think it’s clear to anyone who heard it that it represents exactly who he is.

Not just his fitness but his mendacity is a concern for me and many others. I’m genuinely surprised by those who continue to endorse him. I have real questions for those who usually speak about family values but now flat out ignore his demonstrated misogyny and immorality. In fact, many of the warriors of the fight against marriage equality are doubling down on their support of a man who has failed to honor his own marriages or those of others.

This goes beyond politics. It is intensely personal to me. And I have to wonder about those on the other side who tweet that I shouldn’t be so emotional about this election.

How can I not?

I don’t understand those who ignore Trump’s rampant misogyny. Don’t try to deflect with the sexual misconduct of Bill Clinton (there is no denying it is a long and shameful list but it is not hers) nor is it comparable to Donald Trump’s own or his weak-ass non-apology that it is locker room talk. How on earth does her record of working for women and children around the globe matters less than what Trump has committed over his lifetime of predatory behavior against women and girls?

I don’t know how anyone who is or knows or loves someone who is LGBTQ could vote for a person who signed a pledge to reverse marriage equality and has a running mate with some serious homophobia issues. Explain to me why I shouldn’t be scared when the Republican nominee surrounds himself with those who believe discrimination against me and people like me is justified by their religion and who make using the bathroom a life or death situation?

Trump began his career fighting against one of the biggest federal housing discrimination suits brought in the 1970’s and he continues to defend disproven and unconstitutional policing practices like Stop and Frisk. If you have any interest in addressing, much less healing the racial divisions that are tearing apart our country, how can you vote for him?

While Trump used to be pro-choice, he recently advocated punishing women who get abortions (and his running mate has actively tried to restrict access, de-fund Planned Parenthood and signed legislation to force women who miscarry to pay for funerals for their fetuses). I’m flummoxed by any woman who can support them and am desperate to understand your reasoning.

I just can’t see how anyone can look at the flood ravaged parishes in Louisiana and vote for someone who denies climate change. How anyone who has driven down past Cancer Alley would be willing to vote for someone who has pledged to end environmental protection as we know it. Can you explain it to me?

Will a Trump supporter tell me how your access to military grade weaponry could possibly outweigh the lives that are lost to the senseless mass shootings? Simple steps like closing gun show loopholes and improving background checks aren’t an infringement for law-abiding gun owners (of which I am one). First though, you should maybe take a moment to review the process to repeal the 2nd amendment and see just how little power (or interest) the president has to take away your guns before answering.

Please, please give me some reasons that I can share with those I love who have disabilities on why you’re helping to empower a man so fond of mocking them (and kicking them out of his rallies). While you’re at it, tell me just how patriotic it is to support a man who has denigrated veterans (as well as dismissed POW’s and insulted Gold Star families) by a man who dodged the draft?

I ask because it seems that your hatred of Hillary Clinton is more powerful than your love for me and for the country we share.

Please tell me I’m wrong.

Please tell me that the vote you’re casting tomorrow is for a better future for us all and not the first of seven trumpets heralding the end of the world as we know it.

