Tags

,

I was tagged by JM Redmann (author of the fabulous hard boiled mystery series featuring Mickey Knight and which take place in New Orleans) to answer several questions about my writing.

Here are my answers to the questions:

1) What am I working on?

I’ve had a tough time focussing on my next project. I’m working on a science fiction story that could become a series as well as trying my hand on writing a mystery. Unfortunately, I’ve been distracted my non-author work and haven’t been able to spend the time I want writing. Darn that whole working for living thing! lol

2) How does my work differ from others of this genre?

I think I bring a certain sensibility from being a southerner and an Army brat to my writing. I love writing about different places and people and my love of food.

3) Why do I write what I do?

I write what the voices tell me to do! Seriously, though, I write what I’d like to read. Growing up, I read voraciously but was disappointed when many of the stories didn’t include the things I wanted – strong women who didn’t need being rescued by some guy, intimacy between women, plots that include comfort and passion, women in non-traditional roles and women secure in their lesbianism.

4) How does my writing process work?

My goal is to write every day although I’ve been having a difficult doing so lately. I usually write one day and spend the first part of the next editing what I’ve written and then writing some more, once I’ve got the feel and flow again.

5) Who’s next?

I’m tagging Marie Castle, author of the Lambda and Goldie finalist, Hell’s Belles. Get a sneak peak here!

Thanks so much, JM Redman, for tagging me. I’m looking forward to reading your next book!

And I’m looking forward to seeing some of you at the Golden Crown Literary Conference in Portland, July 9-13!

